Immigration Law Competition

December 13, 2012


The Immigration Law Competition is the Moot Court Board’s annual external moot court competition, open to teams from ABA-accredited law schools other than NYU Law.

Since starting in 2006, the Immigration Law Competition focuses on cutting-edge issues in the field of immigration law. Judged exclusively by immigration law professionals in the immigration capital of the Nation, the competition is the only one of its kind in the United States. You can find more details in the full Rules of the Competition.

Schools may apply to send up to two teams to the competition each year. Sixteen teams have been selected for the 2016 competition. Registration for the 2017 competition will open in October 2016. If you would like to be advised when the next round of registrations open, please contact us.

The Immigration Law Competition is judged by panels of distinguished NYU alumni and legal practitioners from throughout New York. All judges receive CLE credit for their participation. We’re always looking for more judges, so if you are a practicing attorney in the New York area with immigration interests or experience please do contact us and we will be sure to add you to our mailing list!

If you have any questions about the Immigration Law Competition, please contact us.

Competition Schedule

November 20 Competing teams selected and notified
December 28 Competitors receive number and side assignments (registration fee of $500 for one team or $800 for two teams due).
January 4 Competitors receive Record and Rules.
January 15 Competitors receive preliminary schedule; deadline for clarifications to the record is 11.59pm New York City time.
January 29 Competitor briefs due at 11.59pm New York City time. RSVP deadline for ILC Annual Dinner Banquet
February 12 Competitors receive Competition Weekend schedule and briefs
February 26-28 Competition Weekend

Gold Sponsor

Bronze Sponsor

CDMP logo

Past ILC Winners

  • Emory Law School (2016)
  • Harvard Law School (2015)
  • Harvard Law School (2014)
  • Florida Coastal School of Law (2013)
  • Harvard Law School (2006)