NYU Jessup team advances to the top 8 out of over 550 teams worldwide!

In their best performance ever, NYU’s Jessup team ranked in the top 8 out of over 550 teams worldwide, received 7th place for their written submissions and Megan Henry received the 4th best oralist award in the World Championships of the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition.

Between 27th March – 2nd April 2016, NYU competed in the international rounds of the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court competition, the largest moot in the world. After advancing out of the Northeast Regionals (aka the ‘Group of Death’) they travelled to Washington DC to moot alongside over 132 teams from around 80 different countries. The problem this year concerned cutting-edge issues of the legality of mass surveillance, arbitrary detention and cyberattacks.

After winning preliminary rounds against teams from Iraq, Azerbaijan and the US (Stanford and American University), they advanced to the top 32. They were then successful against Ruhr-Universität Bochum from Germany in the first elimination round and Belarusian State University in the Octo-Finals.

Despite stellar performances from Megan Henry (who went on to win the top 4 oralist award) and David Tan, NYU lost to Penn (the eventual runner-up) in the Quarter-Finals. The overall winner was Universidad de Buenos Aires in a final judged by a panel of sitting and retired International Court of Justice judges (Greenwood, Simma and Owada JJ).

As well as receiving a top 4 oralist award, the team also received 7th place for their written memorials, which totalled over 110 pages. The team this year consisted of:

  • Megan Henry (oralist, 3L)
  • David Isidore Tan (oralist, LLM)
  • Tim McKenzie (oralist, 3L)
  • Asmaa Awad-Farid (oralist, 2L)
  • Daniel Andreeff (researcher, 2L)
  • Rajkiran Barhey (coach, LLM)
  • Iqra Zainul Abedin (coach, LLM)

The team would like to thank everyone at NYU who contributed to their success. In particular, our thanks extend to Professors Alvarez, Goldman, Alston, Weissmann, Forteau and Farbiarz, as well as Shreya Atrey, Paul Mertenskötter, and Thomas Streinz from NYU and ex-Jessupers Chris Beshara, Stephen Thompson and Joe Russo.

In addition, many thanks go to all the students who also gave their time to help. Finally, the team would also like to express their gratitude to the Hauser Global Law School for providing funding and administrative support.